Darryl Brooks: A Man of Many Talents

22 Sep

Darryl Brooks

I’d like to take a few minutes to introduce you to a friend I first met when I was involved in stock photography. I got to know him a little through his photography (beautiful work with a wide-range of styles and subject matter in his portfolio), but soon discovered his penchant for writing. I am a huge fan of Darryl’s short stories.  He has a talent for drawing the reader along…once you start reading, you’ll read to the end, and you’ll soon find that one story is just not enough.  Nearly all of his short stories have a twist at the final paragraphs, and after you’ve read a few you start wondering, right at the beginning what the twist will be. As you read, you’ll probably find yourself guessing; most of the time you’ll be wrong. Darryl has a distinct knack for the entertaining, and his stories are just that. Beautifully written and well thought out, with believable characters and the added value of just being a darn good read. Here’s an excerpt from one such story called The Chain:

The man on the dock was gagged and duct-taped to his chair. Several loops of chain wrapped around him and the chair, disappearing into a coil at his feet. A cinder block shackled to a length running out of the coil was sitting on the edge of the dock.
I sat on a bench at the edge of the dock, trying to keep warm and waiting for my quarry to wake up. It was the dead of winter and everything was quiet around the lake – all the summer homes locked up for the season. I had come looking for the man in the chair the day before, tracking him to this cabin on the shore of Carters Lake, about fifty miles north of Atlanta.

…read more

Besides the great fiction he produces, Darryl also writes well in the non-fiction genre and has a great portfolio of articles for licensing and reproduction. For anyone looking to license or buy articles for magazines, or advertising text, Darryl can produce just about anything you need, so go have a look at his portfolio and read through his well written and researched articles on Constant Content.

And, not to leave out some of my favourite type of work, here are just a couple of Darryl’s images that I’d be willing to call my favourites, but in all honesty, I have to say

"Fence in Dunes"

Fence In Dunes by DBrooks

that if you browse through any of his photographic portfolios, you’ll be hard-pressed to find one or two that you can call favourites, and that’s because there are so many stunning pieces to choose from. I really can’t pick just a few, and had a difficult time selecting two for this article. One that I’ve called a favourite since I first laid eyes on it is this beach scene, titled “Fence in Dunes”. Yes, it is a fence in sand dunes, but it’s so much more than that. It is the quintessential beach memory – at least for me. It so reminds me of the cottage beach of my childhood, that this image of Darryl’s is burned into my mind. When I think of my childhood beach, this is the image that comes to my mind.

Peaceful River Scene

The other is one I recently discovered while checking out his fine art portfolio. It’s just a river scene, right? But not really. This image imparts a feeling of a peaceful lazy day; the sound of a river softly moving along and the distant drone of a small plane in the distance as you lay back in the grass with your eyes closed. While none of that except the river scene is visible, this is what I feel when I look at it – more memories generated from a time in my past.

To me, Darryl has the mark of an exceptional writer and the artistic depth of a remarkable photographer, wrapped up in one package. Please do visit Darryl’s haunts – read, browse, look…and enjoy! Oh – and just so you know, like most of the artists I feature, Darryl is rather modest about his accomplishments, and a very down-to-earth and friendly guy. Send him a note or join him on facebook – I’m sure he’ll be delighted to hear from you.

A Writer’s Journey – D. Brooks

Brooks Images

Darryl Brooks

2 Responses to “Darryl Brooks: A Man of Many Talents”

  1. Ayesha September 22, 2010 at 8:17 pm #

    What a great article about a great photographer :D

  2. Cheryl Casey September 22, 2010 at 11:32 pm #

    What a great blog about a talented guy. Darryl does have such a dry and quick wit!

    Excellent spotlight article Gracey, and keep up the great work, Darryl!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.